Delaware State University - History

The State College for Colored Students, now known as Delaware State University, was established on May 15, 1891 by the Delaware General Assembly under the provisions of the Morrill Act of 1890 by which land-grant colleges for Blacks came into existence in states maintaining separate educational facilities. Through the conservative and practical planning of the Board of Trustees appointed by Governor Robert J. Reynolds of Delaware, the College was launched upon its mission of education and public service on February 2, 1892. Five courses of study leading to a baccalaureate degree were offered: Agricultural, Chemical, Classical, Engineering, and Scientific. A Preparatory Department was established in 1893 for students who were not qualified to pursue a major course of study upon entrance. A three-year normal course leading to a teacher's certificate was initiated in 1897. The College graduated its first class of degree candidates in May, 1898. The normal course of study was extended to four years in 1911 and the Bachelor of Pedagogy degree was awarded to students on satisfactory completion of the curriculum.

In 1912, the courses of study were changed to Academic, Agricultural, Mechanic Arts, and Domestic Science. The Bachelor of Pedagogy degree was awarded on creditable completion of the academic curriculum. A certificate of graduation was granted on completion of the other courses of study.

In the 1916-17 school year, the Preparatory Department was phased out, a Model Grade School was established, and a high school diploma was granted on completion of a four-year course of study. In 1923, a Junior College Division was added. Four-year curricula in the Arts and Sciences, Elementary Education, Home Economics, Agriculture, and Industrial Arts were established in 1932. The College graduated the first class of bachelor degree candidates completing one of these courses of study in June, 1934.

In 1944, the College received provisional accreditation by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. In 1947, the name of the institution was changed to "Delaware State College" by legislative action. At the end of the 1951-52 school year, the High School Division was discontinued. In April, 1957, the College was fully accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. This accreditation was reaffirmed by the Middle States Association in 1962, 1972, 1982, 1987, and 1992. Concurrently, the University achieved and maintained accreditation of its teacher education programs by the Delaware State Board of Education.

On July 1, 1993, Delaware State College turned another chapter in its history book, when Governor Thomas Carper signed a name change into law, thus renaming the College to Delaware State University.

Since 1957, the University has grown in stature as a center for teaching, research, and public service. The purpose and object of the University have broadened in keeping with changing times. While recognizing its historical heritage, the University provides higher education today for a diverse student population. The Division of Undergraduate Studies, comprised of three undergraduate schools with a total of 22

academic departments, offers a wide variety of programs leading to the degree of Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Social Work, or Bachelor of Technology. The undergraduate programs in airway science, chemistry, education, nursing, and social work are approved by the Federal Aviation Administration, American Chemical Society, National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification, the National League for Nursing, and the Council on Social Work Education, respectively. The School of Graduate Studies offers programs leading to the master's degree in biology, business administration, chemistry, education, physics, and social work.



Last Modified: December 3, 1996