

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIX

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES

RE: GOVERNOR'S TASK FORCE ON HIGHWAY SAFETY

WHEREAS, on May 21, 1982, former Governor Pierre S.

du Pont through Executive Order 116 established the Governor's Task Force on

Drunk Driving. That same Executive Order provided that the Task Force on

Drunk Driving would automatically terminate on February 1, 1985; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force on Drunk Driving was successful in stimulating and encouraging the development of public awareness and education programs concerning driving while under the influence of alcohol and drugs. The Task Force also played an important part in advocating the passage of new and much more strict drunk driving legislation that since enactment has had a significant impact on the number of drunk driving convictions, and reducing alcohol related fatalities; and

WHEREAS, during the calendar year 1984, forty-six percent of the highway fatalities in Delaware were shown to be alcohol related. For the period January 1, 1985 to date, that figure has increased by alarming proportions to the extent that 70 percent of highway fatalities this year have been shown to be alcohol related; and

WHEREAS, the work performed by the Task Force on Drunk
Driving has been of great benefit not only to citizens of this state but also to
those residents of other states who have the occasion to travel on Delaware's
highways; and

WHEREAS, before disbanding, the Task Force on Drunk Driving expressed an opinion that the public would benefit best from the creation of a Task Force that will deal with the broader aspects of highway safety; and

WHEREAS, the work performed by the Drunk Driving Task Force should be continued on an on-going basis with an even broader charge of addressing the issues of highway safety;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, MICHAEL N. CASTLE, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Govenror of the State of Delaware, do hereby order and declare as follows:

- I. The Governor's Task Force on Highway Safety is hereby established.
 - 2. The Task Force shall consist of the following members:
 - A. Two members of the House of Representatives of the Delaware General Assembly, one representing each political party, who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House;
 - B. Two members of the Senate of the Delaware General Assembly, one representing each political party, who shall be appointed by the President Pro-Tempore of the Senate;
 - C. The Chief Justice;
 - D. The Secretary of Public Safety;
 - E. The Director of the Office of Highway Safety;

- F. One representative from each of the following State agencies or council, who may be the Director, Chairman or the Chief Executive Officer of the agency or someone designated by him:
 - 1) The Delaware State Police;
 - 2) The Division or Motor Vehicles;
 - 3) The Department of Justice;
 - 4) The Office of the Public Defender;
 - The Delaware Criminal Justice Planning Commission;
 - 6) Division of Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Mental Health;
 - 7) The Department of Corrections;
 - The Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission;
 - 9) The Superior Court;
 - 10) The Court of Common Pleas;
 - 11) The Justice of the Peace Courts;
 - 12) The Municipal Court;
 - 13) The Family Court;
 - 14) The Department of Public Instruction;
 - 15) Delaware Safety Council.
- G. One representative from each of the following police agencies:
 - 1) New Castle County Police;
 - 2) Wilmington Police;
 - 3) Newark Police;

- 4) Dover Police;
- 5) Chairman, Sussex Police Chiefs! Council;
- 6) Delaware Council of Police Chiefs.
- H. Twelve members of the general public, to be appointed by the Governor. There shall be at least one public member from each county of the State.
- The Secretary of Public Safety shall serve as Chairman of the Task Force.
- 4. Members appointed by the Governor shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Terms of members who serve by virtue of the office they hold shall be concurrent with service in such office. Terms of members who are designated by the Director or Chief Executive Officer of an agency or by an organization shall serve at the pleasure of the designating officer or organization.
- 5. The entire Task Force shall meet at least two (2) times a year and at such other times as the Chairman may deem necessary. Fifteen members shall constitute a quorum for the conduct of business.
- 6. There shall be an Executive Committee of the Task Force which shall consist of the Secretary of Public Safety, the four legislative members, the Chief Justice, the Director of the Office of Highway Safety, and two public members, as designated by the Chairman, which is authorized to supervise and direct the work of the Task Force and receive committee reports and recommendations. The Executive Committee shall meet at the call of the Chairman.

- 7. In addition to the Executive Committee, the Chairman shall designate membership in the following three standing committees as he shall deem necessary for the efficient conduct of business:
 - A. Public Information and Education;
 - B. Enforcement, Prosecution and Adjudication;
 - C. Legislation.

Each of the standing committees shall file a written report with the Task Force for presentation at the Task Force's annual meeting.

- 8. The duties of the Task Force shall include but are not limited to the following:
 - A. Statistically analyze traffic accidents that occur in Delaware (both fatal and nonfatal) in order to determine the contributing factors and causes of the accidents, the location of the accidents, and the extent of personal injury and damage to property.
 - B. Serve as an information contact to better establish coordinated efforts among public safety interest groups and/or agencies i.e. Department of Public Instruction, Delaware State Police, Office of Highway Safety, Higher Education, Delaware Safety Council, Mothers Against Drunk Drivers, and Students Against Drunk Drivers.
 - C. Monitor the statutes that are directly and indirectly concerned with highway safety.
 - D. Recommend and assist in implementing changes in administrative procedures to improve the application of Delaware's motor vehicle laws (including DUI cases).

E. To report to the Governor, through the Task Force
Chairman in the form of an annual report on all of those action
taken by the Task Force and the effects, if any, of those actions.

F. Recommend to the legislature, through the Task Force Chairman, changes in legislation dealing with traffic and highway safety, together with any available supporting data on need, effect or financial impact.

G. Stimulate and encourage the development of public awareness and education programs concerning highway safety.

9. The Task Force on Highway Safety shall have the authority to examine records and documents of state agencies, except to the extent that disclosure of such information may be prohibited by State law.

10. The Task Force on Highway Safety shall be terminated as of Feburary 1, 1988 unless earlier terminated by Executive Order.



APPROVED this a day of May, 1985.

Governor Cotte

ATTEST:

Secretary of State